That Peculiar Day

Throught a man’s life, he lives through the good, the bad and the ugly moments. Some dreams come to reality while some are washed down the drain.

One ought to dream to know what’s ahead and it’s said that all men dream, but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds, wake in the day to find it was unity; but the dreamers of the day are dangerous men, for they may act on their dreams with open eyes to make them possible, so for today i’ll dream about my life.

One day i’ll be a dad, hopefully of 3 kids, neither too many nor too few. All genders represented because there are 2 sides of a coin, separated by an expanse so small, but wide enough that one side can’t see the other.

One day i’ll stand by my wife in that labour ward, as she screams her heart out giving us our first joy. Because a real man got to support his woman through the hard times.

One day i’ll look down on my child, wrapped in swaddling cotton cloth, head to toe. I’ll take my finger and take it through his/her hands as i feel that gentle squeeze of my finger telling me “I’ve arrived, please take good care of me and never let me go”.

One day i’ll watch my child take those first baby steps, the first of millions. The steps of which will take him/her to the world unknown, to places far and wide. I’ll tell my children about the world that’s behind them and how the family flag needs to be kept high.

One day, it will be my child’s first day at school. Definately crying is expected but i’ll tell a story of how i cried a bucket of tears and now am a grown ass man. I’ll also wait for their graduation to tell them “All is well that ends well”.
One day, wedding bells shall be sounded, as I lead my daughter to the aisle, not very certain where she’s going or who’s going to live with, but confident that God will take care of her.

One day, i’ll teach my daughter how to be proud and men will never hurt her because i can’t stand her shedding tears for some loser.
image

Then I will realise that time is running out…..
So finally one day i’ll be breathing my last. Hopefully it will be as painlessly as possible. I will know that I was blessed to meet the apple of my eye, children, friends who have supported me through and enemies who proved that I was capable of doing things.

For those very close friends who stuck by my side in hard and good times, the sad and happy moments, they will all be remembered. I know a tear will be shed but it would be unnecessary because I will thank God for a life well lived.

“We are born in one day, we die in one day. We can change in one day. And we can fall in love in one day. Anything can happen in just one day.”

Be blessed

About silwaxxy2013

Civil Engineer in the making, moved like a kite in the wind
This entry was posted in Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

